Machu Picchu

What exactly is Machu Picchu? Machu Picchu is the ruins of a city of the Inca Empire. The city is located in the Peruvian Andes. The name Machu Picchu comes from the mountain that the locals call Machu Picchu.
cedule machu picchu


The history of the town dates back to the early 15th century, when the Incas of that time began building the town. construction began around 1430. Soon, however, it fell into obscurity and was rediscovered by American archaeologists in 1911. Since its discovery, the site has grown in popularity and gradually became a favorite destination for tourists from around the world; in the late 20th century it was inscribed on UNESCO\’s list of archaeological sites, and in 2007 it was newly inscribed as one of the Seven Wonders of the Modern World.
lama v horĂ¡ch

Important architectural points

The entire exhibition is about 5 km long. It is divided into an agricultural part and an urban part. These two parts are well separated by a wall. Part of the site is made of worked stone with minimal binding material. The agricultural part is mostly made of terraces, with dozens of terraces up to 5 meters high. The most important attractions are the Inti Watana, the Temple of the Sun, or the Room of the Three Windows.

Intihuatana (Pillar of the Sun)

The Intihuatana is a sacred stone shaped like a flat pyramid. Experts suggest that the stone may have served as an astronomical clock or calendar. This is suggested by the fact that no shadows are cast on the stone during the hebrew month of the year.

Temple of the Sun

This structure was once used for religious honors and celebrations. The temple was usually only accessible to priests who offered animal sacrifices. Nearby was a royal tomb where the mummies of important Inca leaders were enshrined.
hora machu picchu

The Room of the Three Windows

The Room of the Three Windows is one of the most photogenic sites in the entire complex. Unlike the Temple of the Sun, the floor plan is rectangular. As its name suggests, it has three of the original five windows. Each window depicts a figure symbolizing one of the three worlds (the underworld, the heavens, and the earth).